Kashmir Age

Parliament by-polls: NC-Congress go for seat-sharing

Parliament by-polls: NC-Congress go for seat-sharing
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page


Dr Farooq, G A Mir to contest from NC-Cong alliance, Tasaduq Mufti, Nazir Khan to be PDP candidates

Srinagar: National Conference and Congress have decided that the two parties will contest parliament by-polls together through seat sharing arrangement in the Kashmir valley.

While NC president Dr Farooq Abdullah will contest from Srinagar, Congress state president G A Mir will contest from Anantnag Lok Sabha seat, political sources told KNS.

The two parties Tuesday held a meeting in which they decided to contest polls together on seat sharing arrangement.

Sources said that senior leaders of NC including its general secretary Ali Muhammad Sagar, former ministers Choudhary Muhammad Ramzan, Sakina Itoo, and provincial president Nasir Aslam Wani and senior leaders of Congress including JKPCC Chief G A Mir, former minister Taj Mohiddin, MLA Sopore Haji Abdul Rashid, MLA Devsar Amin Bhat held meeting today and decided to go for pre-poll alliance on seat sharing basis.

Confirming the development, JKPCC chief G A Mir told KNS that both the parties have decided to go for pre-poll alliance to defeat its opponents in the by-polls.

The two parties will announce the decision formally in a press conference tomorrow noon.

Meanwhile, PDP has decided that Tasaduq Mufti will contest from Anantnag and Nazir Khan will contest from Srinagar parliament seats.

PDP senior leader and PWD minister Naeem Akhtar told KNS that the party has decided to field Tasaduq Mufti from Anantnag and Nazir Khan from Srinagar for the parliament by-elections.

Akhtar said that the government will provide security and peaceful atmosphere during the polls to the contesting candidates, campaigners and voters. (KNS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *