Kashmir Age

LS Bye-Elections: ECI prohibits Exit Poll

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page


Jammu: In connection with the bye-elections to 2-Srinagar and 3-Anantnag Parliamentary constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has prohibited Exit Polls between 7 am on April 9, 2017 and 6.30 pm on April 12, 2017.

“In exercise of the powers under Sub-Section (1) of Section 126 A of the Representation of People’s Act 1951, ECI has notified the period between 7 am on April 9, 2017 and 6.30 pm on April 12, 2017 during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll shall be prohibited,” says the notification issued by ECI.

According to the notification it is further clarified that under  Section-126 (1) (b) of the R P Act 1951,  displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would  be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for conclusion of poll for bye-elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *