Anantnag LS by-poll: Location of 2 polling stations changed in Shopian



    Srinagar: Location of two polling stations have been changed in south Kashmir district of Shopian for by-polls in Anantnag parliamentary constituency, where 13,27,638 voters will exercise their franchise on April 12.

    Meanwhile, 7 candidates have filled nominations for the Anantnag parliamentary seat, which fell vacant after Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti, who represented the constituency in the LoK Sabha, resigned on July 4 last year following her election to the Legislative Assembly.

    The date of scrutiny of nomination papers is March 27, while as last date of withdrawal of nominations is March 29 and polling will be held on April 12 for the Parliamentary constituency.

    An official spokesperson here today said according to the District Election Officer, Shopian, all the voters of Shopian district are informed that the following changes to polling stations have been made in respect of 35-Wachi and Shopian assembly segments for the forthcoming bye-elections to Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency.

    He said in the Wachi assembly segment, Baskuchan polling station has been shifted from its existing location P/S Baskuchan to new location Panchayat Ghar Baskushan.

    Meanwhile, in the Shopian assembly segment, Sindoo Shirmal-B, Ganowpora, Tukroo polling stations have been shifted from P/S Poterwal to H/S Sindoo Shirmal, P/S Ganowpora to H/S Sindoo Shirmal and P/S Tukroo to Panchayat Ghar Tukroo respectively.

    He said that for successfully carrying out the elections in a free and fair manner, 16 AROs have been designated, while as Nodal Officers, Zonal and Sectoral magistrates, besides other teams for various election assignments and for overall supervision have already been constituted.

    Apart from 461 micro observers, web casting and videography shall be done at designated polling stations where there is shortage of micro observers, he added.

    The spokesperson said with respect to Election Photo Id-Card (EPIC) coverage, it was said that Kulgam district has achieved 96.19 percent, while as Pulwama, Shopian and Anantnag have achieved 91 per cent, 91.77 per cent and 95.35 per cent respectively.