Six states to roll out intra-state e-way bill from today


New Delhi: As many as six states, including Punjab and
Odisha, will make mandatory e-way bill requirement for
intra-state movement of goods from Friday.
The six states — Mizoram, Odisha, Punjab, Chhattisgarh,
Goa and Jammu & Kashmir — are set to implement the e-
way bill system for intra-state movement of goods from
June 1, GST Network said in a statement.
Besides, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal will roll out the
same on June 2 and June 3, respectively.
The Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC)
has already said that e-way bill for moving goods within a
state will become mandatory from June 3, with the
country-wide roll out of the mechanism.
So far, 27 states and union territories have made e-way
bill mandatory for intra-state movement of goods.
From 8 lakh e-way bills generated in the first week of
April, the average number of those bills rose to 16.8
lakhs on May 30.

“So far, a total of 6.43 Crore E-way bills have been
generated on the e-way portal,” GSTN said.
The government had launched the electronic-way or e-
way bill system from 1 April for moving goods worth over
Rs 50,000 from one state to another.
The same for intra or within the state movement has
been rolled out from 15 April.
Touted as an anti-evasion measure, transporters of
goods worth over Rs 50,000 would be required to
present e-way bill to a GST inspector, if asked. The
measure is expected to help boost tax collections by
clamping down on trade that currently happens on cash